Car Seat Lady: Rear-Facing Convertible Install?

Aug 19, 2013
StrongDad:
I have a question for you. We have the Britax Boulevard and I’m not sure on some things. For one the long strap on the back of it that were supposed to hook to a rod on the front seat and tighten. How tight should that be? And seems to pull the seat to one side and I can’t seem to get the two bottom straps to tighten as much as I could the infant Chicco seat we had in either of our cars (2006 Tahoe and 2011 Explorer) but if I tighten the long strap I can get everything pretty solid. And then the straps for her those should come below her shoulders right? I think I’m doing it right but then I know a lot of people think that and have it wrong! Thanks for the help!

CarSeatLady:
I’m assuming she is still rear facing? Correct? Let me know then I can explain.

StrongDad:
Yes of course. She tiny still. Could probably still fit in the infant seat. It’s that long strap that gets me and those other two buckles for the car are just not that good and I can’t seem to pull them enough to tighten it well so I rely on the other one to make everything tight but it pulls the seat down so I don’t know if that the right thing to do or not.

CarSeatLady:
The trick is… Push your front seats up all the way so you have plenty of room. fit the seat in the position and angle you want and loosely hook the latch anchors (bottom two belts). Climb into the car behind the seat. Push in and down with your belly on the seat. Try to wedge the edge of the seat into the foam of the seat back. While doing this, pull straight up on both latch anchors to tighten. Your basically going to look like you are giving your car seat the Heimlich maneuver! I would gladly demo on Skype for you.
Then the top tether, you don’t need it. It is mandatory in Europe because they have a floor hook that out attaches to in all their cars. We do not, so to get it out of the way, they suggest hooking it to the seat in front. Use it if you think it helps, but it is not necessary. I rolled mine up and put it in its pouch.

StrongDad:
Interesting. I was wondering about that. A lot of cars don’t have many options for it. Like some rental cars I tried it in when we were on vacation. Awesome thanks! Ill do all that. It does seem like a good seat and she should be in it for a long time. Rear facing long as possible. Yea we could do Skype, I’ll try it out tomorrow and let you know how it goes.

